On Course

I applied for my first online writing event last Monday. Amazingly, none of my fingers had moved to delete the email earlier in the day. Where that sudden burst of confidence came from is anyone’s guess. Tweeting about my application later, I added a tongue-in-cheek comment asking whether I was finally taking this writing business seriously.

Spoiler alert: ever since I produced my first prompt response, I’ve taken my writing seriously. Of course, the person replying to my tweet wasn’t to know that.

What does ‘seriously’ mean in this context? Only what most writers would think it to be: working at the craft; striving to improve; and taking advice whenever it’s offered. I consider myself fortunate to have writing hints and critical commentary on tap as an author and member of Gay Authors.

You may have encountered my editor and writing confidante around these parts recently. I wouldn’t change him for the world, but he doesn’t wield the most nitpicking of red pens. At regular intervals, I submit pieces to other GA members and seek to learn from the experience, how ever brutal it might seem on first reading.

That’s a good way to learn, I’d have thought. It’s free, there for the asking (subject to other commitments), and is usually offered in a spirit of good advice. What I don’t understand is those of my fellow authors who appear content with the state of their writing. Indeed, some are openly hostile to even the mildest suggestion that an improvement might be possible.

Every so often, I sample their latest offerings. Experience should have taught me better. My eyes glaze over when confronted with exactly the same errors of grammar, word choice, and structure as before. Maybe if the story itself was compelling, I wouldn’t care quite as much? Hmm… not sure it works like that; often the new story is a copy of the previous one, and the one before that, with only the surface details changed.

Such paucity of creative imagination could be seen as another symptom of treading water. However, there’s a pretty large ‘but’ hiding here as well. These stories are often popular, attracting likes, followers, and comments far in excess of mine. So does jealousy colour my views?

Cue a rolling of eyes. To say a categorical ‘no’ would be a lie. Who doesn’t appreciate being liked? But then common sense applies. I’m an English writer posting to an international site which is heavily weighted to a North American slant. The ubiquitous teen / high school / college romance isn’t my cup of tea at all. My principle characters are older and often their journeys are more about discovering who they are and their place in the world.

In addition, as one of my writer friends says, there are readers on the site who’d applaud a shopping list if it were posted. No, I’m happy ploughing my own furrow, accompanied along the way by those readers whose intelligence and personal stories as displayed in the comments, often humble me. Part of my writing journey is to learn more and this course is another milestone on the way. Bring it on.

© 2020, northie

Your comments and constructive criticism are always welcome. How else should I learn?

Image by Kranich17 from Pixabay

6 thoughts on “On Course

  1. Yes! Do the online course. Do all the online courses. And then go do the in-person courses too! It’s serendipitous that you mention the writers who don’t seem to handle critique (not even criticism) and who don’t grow. Just yesterday, I wondered aloud how long it would be before I was kicked out of an online writing group for continually pulling (the same) people up on repeated (egregious) mistakes. I really like the way you draw the reader carefully to your points about lifelong learning, and learning being a journey (not a destination — yes, I know that’s a trite saying, but it still rings true).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hurray for investing in yourself by taking courses! It’s also great having you on the YW grids so consistently. I find it so special to have this safe space to still (always) be improving and getting specific feedback, and I appreciate you for being a faithful contributor & commenter.

    Speaking of feedback, what was the reply to your tweet that you allude to? I kept waiting for you to circle back and tell us what they had said because with the way you set it up (“spoiler alert”), I thought it was going to be important.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Katie. I’m not sure how faithful a commenter I am really. There are numerous weeks when I struggle to find a comment. I admire those people like Nate who not only comment assiduously but put their finger on the spot almost without fail.
      The reply to the tweet was fine really – it just took my comment at face value. 😉

      Like

  3. I found myself nodding along on this. I think that’s one of the reasons I spend so much time at YW. It’s hard to hang out here and not try to tweak your writing. But I recently had a beta read from someone (not here) who was completely off base, didn’t understand the market I was going for. I didn’t get angry. Just thanked her for her comments and deleted every one. Now I wonder if it could be me. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hesitate to offer my writing out to other beta readers. I would need to feel that they get me and my writing before we went any further. Otherwise it might end up as if there were two people writing the piece, like your situation. I have no problem with people giving something an editorial going over.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.